You are here: Home TopMenuBar About TISS Organisational Structure

Organisational Structure

Organisational Structure



Academic Structure

TISS moved to a new academic structure in February 2006. It currently hosts 9 Schools, 7 Independent Centres, and 3 Resource Centres as indicated below:

  1. School of Social Work 11 Centres in Community Organisation and Development Practice; Criminology and Justice; Disability Studies and Action; Equity for Women, Children and Families; Health and Mental Health; Social Justice and Governance; Livelihood and Social Entrepreneurship; Environment, Equity and Justice; Incubation of Social Work Initiatives; South Asia Centre for Studies Conflict Peace and Human Security; and Learning and Teaching Support Network for Enhancement of Social Work Education and Practice.

  2. School of Development Studies with 7 Centres in Study of Developing Economies; Public Policy, Habitat and Human Development; Study of Developing Societies; Population, Health and Development; Social Theory; Advanced Centre for Women’s Studies; and Nutrition Research Facility.

  3. School of Management and Labour Studies with 7 Centres in Human Resources Management and Labour Relations; Labour Studies; Social Entrepreneurship; Social and Organisational Leadership; Public Policy and Governance; Labour Market and Research Facility; and Incubation Centre for Social Entrepreneurship.

  4. School of Health Systems Studies with 6 Centres in Health and Social Sciences; Health Policy Planning and Management; Hospital Management; Public Health; India Health Observatory; and Social Science Research Facility on HIV /AIDS.

  5. School of Habitat Studies with 6 Centres in Urban Policy, Planning and Governance; Science Technology and Society; Water Policy, Regulation and Governance; Climate Change and Sustainability; Geoinformatics Laboratory; and Urban Observatory.

  6. School for Media and Cultural Studies with 3 Centres in Critical Media Praxis; Study of Contemporary Culture; and Media Archive and Resource Centre.

  7. School of Law, Rights and Constitutional Governance with 2 Centres in Law and Society; and Nodal Centre for Excellence in Human Rights Education.

  8. School of Vocational Education which will implement training programmes in different trades through partnerships with various industrial and service sectors.

  9. School of Education with 4 Centres in Education; Higher Education; Indian Languages in Higher Education and Teacher Professional Development (Research Facility).

Independent Centres
  1. Centre for Lifelong Learning
  2. Centre for Human Ecology
  3. Centre for Research Methodology
  4. Centre for Studies in Sociology of Education
  5. Centre for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policies
  6. Jamsetji Tata Centre for Disaster Management  [ Updated as per notification received on October 10, 2013 - Admin/Notification/10/2013 ]
  7. Centre for Library and Information Management & SDTM Library [ Updated as per notification received on June 05, 2014 ]

Resource Centres
  1. Computer Centre
  2. Publications Unit
  3. Sir Dorabji Tata Memorial Library


Administrative Structure 

The administrative structure is designed around 9 sections: Academic, Accounts, Dining Hall, Hostels and Guest House, Maintenance, Meetings, Personnel, Planning and Development, and Purchase and Stores.

These 9 sections are located under 4 broad divisions:

  1. Academic,
  2. Finance, Accounts and Audit,
  3. Personnel and Administration, and
  4. Infrastructure Development and Support.



The Governing Board is the highest authority of the Institute. It members include the nominees of the Central Government, State Government, the University of Mumbai, the UGC, and representatives from the TISS faculty. The Chairperson of the Governing Board has functions similar to that of the Chancellor of a conventional university. The Academic Council of the Institute decides on matters of academic nature and comprises faculty drawn from its 4 campuses and as well as 6 experts from outside TISS.


The Director of TISS, whose position is equivalent to that of the Vice-Chancellor of a conventional university, is the academic and administrative head of the Institute.


Prof. S. Parasuraman



Mr. C. P. Mohan Kumar



Prof. Neela Dabir

Deputy Director (Admin)


[ Updated as per Annual Report 2012-2013 and Master’s Degree Programmes Prospectus 2013-2015 ]