Women and Gender Development Cell (WGDC)

Overview


Gender Discrimination is a systematic, unfavourable treatment of individuals on the basis of their gender, which denies them rights, opportunities or resources within any given society. The Women and Gender Development Cell (WGDC) is a mandated body as per Section 3.2 (15) of UGC Guidelines (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal of Sexual Harassment of women employees and students in higher educational institutions) Regulations, 2015.

TISS believes gender justice on campuses is clearly not an ‘isolated operation’ requiring quick fix solutions, but an exercise involving a perspectival shift that is able to set down norms of respect, non-discrimination and the unacceptability of any abuse of power, along with robust processes of debate, discussion and dialogue. This has to be the purpose of a new pedagogy within which issues of gender justice are seen as an integral part - not as ‘women’s issues’ to be ghettoized or added on to academic or curricular agendas as a ‘requirement’ or afterthought. Similar steps need to be taken on issues of gender non-normative behaviours, sexualities and relationships among different genders. Given the realities of a heterogeneous and diverse student body, purely punitive approaches to issues of the ‘safety’ of women and gender sensitization serves little purpose in terms of meaningful intervention however “well intentioned” they maybe. Instead approaches must be iterative, continuous and sustained focusing on empowering young people through educative, preventive and correctional strategies. The Women and Gender Development Cell (WGDC) therefore is mandated to work towards such processes based on the recognition that women and persons with non-normative behaviours are not ‘victims’ who need ‘protection’ rather have agency and capability, which they need to be empowered to exercise effectively. Hence all measures of WGDC are directed at promoting such practices, foster mechanisms that safeguard their fundamental rights and increase their participation and visibility in all realms of the academic world.

Objectives of WGDC:

  1. Understanding and progressively engaging with issues of women, gender, non-normative behaviours, non-binary gender expressions and identifying discriminatory behaviours for initiating dialogue and discussions in the campus.
  2. Conducting outreach work for gender awareness and also identifying those who are facing discrimination, providing support and creating an enabling environment for sharing anxieties, problems and difficulties faced by women and persons with gender non-normative behaviours.
  3. Prevent discrimination and sexual harassment against women and students from LGBTQI communities and promote gender awareness among students and employees.
  4. Make recommendations to the Director for changes/elaborations in the Rules for students in the prospectus and the byelaws, to make them gender just and to lay down procedures for the prohibition, resolution, settlement and prosecutions of acts of discrimination and sexual harassment against women, by students and the employees.
  5. Train and coordinate the work of Gender Champions for gender awareness programmes, workshops and other such activities.

The WGDC therefore on the one hand strives towards activities and programmes to create a gender aware and gender just environment within the campus. At the same time, prepare and capacitate young people with appropriate perspectives, attitudes and skills to work towards creating gender just spaces in the external world outside the Institute.

The WGDC also works in tandem with Internal Committee of TISS which addresses all complaints of sexual harassment within the Institute as per Section 4 of the UGC Guidelines (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal of Sexual Harassment of women employees and students in higher educational institutions) Regulations, 2015. The mandate of the Internal Committee is to handle all complaints, provide support to complainants, conduct the hearings and submit appropriate recommendations to the Higher Authorities.

Members of Women and Gender Development Centre, Mumbai Campus

Members Email Contact
Dr Shewli Kumar
(Chairperson)
shewli4@tiss.edu 9833583540
Roja Pillai
(Member-Secretary)
roja@tiss.edu 9029001646
Dr Mohua Nigudkar mohua.nigudkar@tiss.edu 9821415190
Dr Swati Banerjee sbanerjee@tiss.edu 9833399724
Dr Mahuya Bandhopadhyay mahuya.bandhopadhyay@tiss.edu 9920063686
Prof Sivakami Muthusamy sivakami@tiss.edu 9833901515
Dr Shamim Modi shamim@tiss.edu 9420806028
Dr Roshni Nair Shaikh roshni@tiss.edu 9820855478
Dr Ketki Ranade ketki.ranade@tiss.edu 9860076567
Dr Shailesh Darokar shaileshsd@tiss.edu 9223436817
Dr Aparna Joshi aparna.joshi@tiss.edu 9819249474
Dr Bal Rakshase bal.rakshase@tiss.edu 9226322182
Dr Asha Achuthan  asha.achuthan@tiss.edu  9820340553
Dr Prerna Sharma prerna.sharma@sve.tiss.edu  9819498161
Kunal Kumar Jha kumar.jha@tiss.edu 8424899546
Armaity Kelawala armaity.kelawalla@tiss.edu 9820986708
Devyani Pothare devyani@tiss.edu 9920752150
Minal Sawant minal.sawant@tiss.edu 9594033532
Anil Datar anil2k@tiss.edu 9819318640
Dr. Chayanika Shah
(External Expert)
- -
Prof Helen Joseph
(External Expert)
- -
Prof Geeta Balkrishnan
(External Expert)
- -
Student Representatives (Elected every year)
Maitreyee Sevekari m2018ccss010@tiss.edu 7588230540
Chaittanya Damodar m2018ccss006@tiss.edu 9028498230
Aisha Abdul Kader m2018wcp002@tiss.edu 9645957897
Lumbini Ganvir m2018dsa009@tiss.edu 9545985008