Prof. Rajni Kothari Memorial Lecture Series


Date: Nov. 24, 2020

Venue: Via Zoom


Date and Time: 24 Nov 2020 Timing: 6:30 pm – 8:00 pm (IST) & 2:00 pm-3:30 pm (CET)


Venue: Via Zoom


Prof. Rajni Kothari Memorial Lecture Series at School of Development Studies, Tata Institute of Social Sciences (Mumbai) is pleased to invite you to a talk by Prof. Abhijit Banerjee, Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In 2003 he co-founded the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL) with Esther Duflo and Sendhil Mullainathan.  He is a co-recipient of the 2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for his groundbreaking work in development economics research.

Welcome Address by Prof. Shalini Bharat, Director, Tata Institute of Social Sciences.


The Talk will be moderated by Prof. Ashwani Kumar.

Expression of Thanks by Prof. Ritambhara Hebbar, Dean, School of Development Studies, TISS (Mumbai)

Prof. Rajni Kothari Memorial Lecture Series is anchored at Center of Public Policy, Habitat and Human Development since 2016. It is conceptualized and curated by Prof. Ashwani Kumar, School of Development Studies, Tata Institute of Social Sciences (Mumbai).

Prof. Rajni Kothari (16 August 1928 - 19 January 2015) was a celebrated political scientist, academic-activist, author of the classic "Politics in India" and founder of Centre for the Study of Developing Societies and Lokayan. Rajni Kothari, scholar extraordinaire, preeminent political theorist and a visionary beyond compare, single-handedly revolutionized the study of politics in the country. His intellectual prowess and unwavering activism gave the country lasting institutions and ideals which have inspired countless generations of students and academicians and continue to do so.

The lecture series includes a set of interactive panel discussions with some of the most celebrated thinkers and scholars in India and abroad.

Convenors of this event: Dr. Srishtee Sethi, Souradeep Banerjee, Shashwat Dhar, Souradeep Banerjee, Garima Gupta, Ashtesh Braham, Nishant Sharma, Satyam Shukla & Ravindra Chowdhary.



Secretariat, School of Development Studies, TISS.

The event is open for students, faculty and the general public.