Tata Institute of Social Sciences
Mumbai | Tuljapur | Guwahati | Hyderabad
SINCE
1936
Women and Gender Development Cell (WGDC)

Gender Discrimination is a systematic, unfavourable treatment of individuals on the basis of their gender, which denies them rights, opportunities or resources within any given society. The Women and Gender Development Cell (WGDC) is a mandated body as per Section 3.2 (15) of UGC Guidelines (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal of Sexual Harassment of women employees and students in higher educational institutions) Regulations, 2015.

TISS believes gender justice on campuses is clearly not an ‘isolated operation’ requiring quick fix solutions, but an exercise involving a perspectival shift that is able to set down norms of respect, non-discrimination and the unacceptability of any abuse of power, along with robust processes of debate, discussion and dialogue. This has to be the purpose of a new pedagogy within which issues of gender justice are seen as an integral part - not as ‘women’s issues’ to be ghettoized or added on to academic or curricular agendas as a ‘requirement’ or afterthought.

Given the realities of a heterogeneous and diverse student body, purely punitive approaches to issues of the ‘safety’ of women and gender sensitization serves little purpose in terms of meaningful intervention however “well intentioned” they may be. Instead approaches must be iterative, continuous and sustained focusing on empowering young people through educative, preventive and correctional strategies. The Women and Gender Development Cell (WGDC) therefore is mandated to work towards such processes based on the recognition that cis-women and other persons in gender-marginal locations are not ‘victims’ who need ‘protection’, but rather have agency and capability, which they need to be empowered to exercise effectively. Hence all measures of WGDC are directed at promoting such practices, foster mechanisms that safeguard fundamental rights and increase participation and visibility for students in all realms of the academic world.

 Objectives of WGDC:

  1. Understand and progressively engage with issues of gender as a social location, intersecting with other vulnerabilities.
  2. Identify discriminatory behaviours towards persons in gender­marginal locations, including cis­women, persons identifying outside the binary, or discriminatory behaviour towards non­normative sexualities and expressions.
  3. To initiate dialogue on these questions and promote gender-awareness within the TISS community.
  4. Providing support and creating an enabling environment for sharing anxieties, problems and difficulties faced by persons marginalised on account of gender and sexuality.
  5. Make recommendations to the TISS community and administration for changes/elaborations in the rules for students in the prospectus and the byelaws, to make them gender just and to lay down procedures for the prohibition, resolution, settlement and prosecutions of acts of discrimination and sexual harassment against women, by students and employees.
  6. Train and coordinate the work of Gender Advocates who can champion gender awareness through workshops and other activities.

The WGDC therefore on the one hand strives towards activities and programmes to create a gender aware and gender just environment within the campus. At the same time, it contributes to prepare and capacitate young people with appropriate perspectives, attitudes and skills to work towards creating gender just spaces in the external world outside the Institute.

The WGDC also works in tandem with Internal Committee of TISS which addresses all complaints of sexual harassment within the Institute as per Section 4 of the UGC Guidelines (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal of Sexual Harassment of women employees and students in higher educational institutions) Regulations, 2015. The mandate of the Internal Committee is to handle all complaints, provide support to complainants, conduct the hearings and submit appropriate recommendations to the higher authorities.

 

Members of Women and Gender Development Cell, Mumbai Campus

Members Email Contact
Dr. Asha Achuthan
(Chairperson and Nodal Officer
for Gender Champions)
asha.achuthan@tiss.edu 9820340553

Prof. Shubhada Maitra

shubhada@tiss.edu 7400499436
Dr Shewli Kumar shewli4@tiss.edu 9833583540
Dr. Narendra Kakade narendra.kakade@tiss.edu 9769235080
Dr. K.P.Asha Mukundan kpasha@tiss.edu 9892574425
Dr. Lata Das lata.das@tiss.edu 9833886305
Prof. Shilpa Phadke shilpa@tiss.edu 9820737750
Ms. Shivaranjani Kulkarni shivaranjani.kulkarni@tiss.edu -
Ms. Sukanya Ray sukanya.ray@tiss.edu 8349245529
Dr. Pranjal Deekshit pranjal.deekshit@tiss.edu  8879660868
Ms. Minal Sawant minal.sawant@tiss.edu  9594033532
Mx. Pallavi Gauri Dehari (Programme Officer) pallavi.dehari@tiss.edu 8374522241
Ms. Evon Gangurde – Member Secretary evon@tiss.edu 9820294222

 

 

Directions to the WGDC (Mumbai Campus) Office:

  1. Proceed to the block opposite the quadrangle (assuming you're already facing the quadrangle from the entrance).
  2. Walk along the corridor between the Publications Unit and the Equal Opportunity Centre. Continue walking straight until you reach the end of the corridor.
  3. Finally, enter the old conference hall building's ground floor which is the Saksham block.
  4. The first room upon entering the block is the WGDC Office.

 


Members of Women and Gender Development Cell, Tuljapur Campus
 

Members Email

Ms Sasmita Swain

(Chairperson

sasmita.swain@tiss.edu
Dr. Neelam Yadava neelamunique@tiss.edu
Dr. Veeresh Hanchinal veeresh.hanchinal@tiss.edu
Dr. Shridhar Samant shridhar.samant@tiss.edu
Ms Anjana Dhute anjana.dhute@tiss.edu
Mr. Kundan Dhumal kundan@tiss.edu

 

Members of Women and Gender Development Cell, Hyderabad Campus

Members  Email

Dr. Ipsita Sapra

(Chairperson)

ipsita.sapra@tiss.edu

Ms. Swetha Shenoy

(Member Secretary)

swetha.shenoy@tiss.edu
Dr. Poulomi Bhattacharya poulomi.bhattacharya@tiss.edu
Dr. Karunakar Peda  karunakar.peda@tiss.edu
Ms Swetha Gundala swetha.gundala@tiss.edu

 

 


Members of Women and Gender Development Cell, Guwahati Campus

Members  Email

Prof. Kalpana Sarathy

(Chairperson)

kalpana.sarathy@tiss.edu

Dr. V.Sawmveli

 

v.sawmveli@tiss.edu

Lydia Tirkey

(Member Secretary)

lydia.tirkey@tiss.edu

Ms. Anurita P Hazarika

(External Member)

anurita@northeastnetwork.org

Prof. Alpana , GU

(External Member)

alpanaborgohain@gauhati.ac.in

Dr. Gitanjali, NLUJAA

(External Member)

gitanjali1990@gmail.com

Milin Dutta

(External Member)

gogettergirl@gmail.com

Rituparna Neog

(External Member)

neogrituparna0@gmail.com
Dr. Namita Brahma namita.brahma@tiss.edu
Dr. Monica Kaothala monica.kaothala@tiss.edu
Dr. Yengkhom Jilangamba yengkhom.jilangamba@tiss.edu
Dr. Fakhruz Zaman fakhruz.zaman@tiss.edu
Shyamal Baishya shyamal.baishya@tiss.edu

Jyotirmoy Jishnu

(Student Representative)

g2023le002@stud.tiss.edu

Parmida Brahma Ritchil

(Student Representative)

g2022ba025@stud.tiss.edu

Jennefer Dingremhoi Chiru

(Student Representative)

g2022ssa019@stud.tiss.edu

Poornima Yadav

(Student Representative)

g2023pc007@stud.tiss.edu

Aditya Mishra

(Student Representative)

 

g2023ba002@stud.tiss.edu

Ahana Sinha

(Student Representative)

 

gp2023ss001@stud.tiss.edu

Kajal Soni

(Student Representative)

g2022le006@stud.edu

Prastuti Pranali Baruah

(Student Representative)

g2021ba037@stud.tiss.edu

 

 

 

The site works best onFirefox 65+Google Chrome 60+iOS Safari 10+  Android 5+ Browser / Chrome Browser